War, Inc.

PLOT:

War Inc.is set in the future, when the fictional desert country of Turaqistan is torn by a riot after a private corporation, Tamerlane (based on Halliburton), owned by the former Vice President of the United States (Dan Aykroyd, based on Dick Cheney), has taken over the whole country. Brand Hauser (John Cuysack), a hit man who suppresses his emotions by gobbling down hot sauce, is hired by the corporation’s head to kill the CEO of their competitors. To do this, he has to have a cover story which is in the form of a gala wedding by the outrageous Central Asian Superstar Yonica Babyyeah (Hilary Duff). Everything changes when the ruthless killer finds himself head-over-heels in love with a sexy reporter Natalie Hegalhuzen (Marisa Tomei) and developing paternal feelings for the oversexed Yonica.

REVIEW:

I hadn’t heard much about this film, other some promotional shots of an extremely sexy Hilary Duff, until my friend over at The Movie Whore posted a blog recommending it and I immediately went and put this on my Netflix list. It was a long wait, but I finally got the chance to see it, and was not disappointed.

I’m a fan of satires, so is it really any wonder that I would like this film? I’m not a big fan of John Cusack. Well, let me take that back, I’m not too familiar with is work. The last movie I saw him in was America’s Sweethearts, but I do have Martian Child on my Netflix cue.

Hilary Duff has come a long way since her days as Lizzie McGuire. Anyone want to call her “Duff Puff” after looking at her rock hard stomach in this? I’m sure the Disney folks would’ve had a cow had she have made this film while still working for them. Listen to the songs and you’ll see why. All that said, her accent, while not the best, is pretty good.

Marisa Tomei is still gorgeous and hasn’t lost any of her talent as an actress. I don’t know why she doesn’t get more roles. In my opinion, this is one of her best.

Ben Kingley and Joan Cusack add there own brand of comic relief to the picture. Until the ending credits, I did not know that Montel Williams was voicing the Guide Star system, which seems to be John Cusack’s best friend.

Cusack is believable as an assassin. When he starts killing, he seems to be in a different zone. I don’t know if that is part of the movie, or just good acting, but it works.

I don’t really have anything negative to say about this picture. It’s sad it didn’t get a wider release, but that may be a good thing. I can see this becoming a cult favorite in the future. Especially because of its satirical stance on the way the US treats the Mid-East.

I highly recommend this film. Watch it and you won’t be dissatisfied!

4 out of 5 stars

2 Responses to “War, Inc.”

  1. StylistToFamousDog Says:

    Cusack plays alot of differing roles, and the hired gun is one of them-Grosse Point Blank, for example. He also plays a great “person approaching a breakdown” & is excellent in roles where the character is in a position of compromised morals-ie shooting people for a living and feeling ambivalent about it. Must Love Dogs was totally not a representative role. That’s where I started watching him, that and America’s Sweethearts. Try “High Fidelity”. He shows alot of role variation. Does not play the same type role everytime, but often plays the moral compass.
    War, Inc. is a movie that alot of people don’t “get” but it sounds like you do, and enjoyed it. I think it’s just a movie that’s ahead of it’s time.

  2. […] a new video that had her prancing around all sexy, wearing a bikini, etc., much like she did in War, Inc. The problem is that she can’t pull that off, well, the sexy part she can. It is just that […]

Leave a Reply

