Archive for October 10, 2017

Extraction

Posted in Action/Adventure, Movie Reviews with tags , , , , , on October 10, 2017 by Mystery Man

PLOT:

When a terrorist group kidnaps retired CIA field operative Leonard Turner, his son Harry Turner, a government analyst who has been repeatedly turned down for field service, launches his own unsanctioned rescue operation. While evading highly skilled operatives, deadly assassins, and international terrorists, Harry finally puts his combat training to the test in a high stakes mission to find his father and to stop a terrorist plot.

What people are saying:

“It’s a rare movie that can’t be saved by Bruce Willis single-handedly killing all the bad guys. And yet, here it is: Extraction.” 1 star

“It takes confidence to put out a movie whose single-word title is also the procedure by which a dentist gets rid of a rotten tooth.” 1 1/2 stars

“It took me a little bit to get into this movie. The thing that was slowing me down was the acting. Once I quit worrying about the sub-par acting, mainly from Carano and started to pay attention to the positives from this movie like the fight sequences and the cinematography I was able to enjoy it more than I thought I would have after the first 15-20 minutes in. It also had a couples of good twists and turns which increased my viewing pleasure. I’m a big fan of director Steven C. Miller’s work and I think this isn’t his best effort and most importantly not his worst either. I would recommend it for action fans or for anyone wanting to support independent filmmaking.” 3 1/2 stars

“Ehnn… Not horrible, but not great either. Predictable. I saw the “twist” coming a mile away. Willis really needs to catch a good script” 1 1/2 star

“You may be tempted to watch this because (like a lot of less critically acclaimed films) it still looks fun. It isn’t. It is the epitome of cringeworthy; I’m not sure they knew what they were trying to achieve. It doesn’t work as a spy film, action film or revenge film. They try to chuck in some comedy (possibly to distract from the massive plot holes and nauseating script) which also fails. Watch anything else.” 1/2 star

